Fred McGriff Elected to Hall of Fame via Contemporary Era Committee

On Sunday, December 4, 2022, Fred McGriff a.k.a. Crime Dog, was elected to the Hall of Fame via the 16 members of the inaugural Contemporary Era Committee, which considered 8 players whose primary career years occurred after 1980.

12 votes were required to be elected and Fred McGriff got all 16. Other players on the list included Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and Curt Schilling but were denied. See full results below.1

PlayerVotes (Pct)
Fred McGriff16 (100%)
Don Mattingly8 (50%)
Curt Schilling7 (43.8%)
Dale Murphy6 (37.5%)
Albert Belle< 4
Barry Bonds< 4
Roger Clemens< 4
Rafael Palmeiro< 4
2023 Contemporary Era Player Ballot

While Fred McGriff didn’t come close to election during his 10 year eligibility block from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BWAA) in which he topped out at just 69 votes (39.8%) in his final year in 2019, he’s become a favorite candidate due to his controversy-free background.

In his 19-year career, Fred McGriff collected 2490 hits and came just 7 home runs shy of breaking the 500 mark. He played on the dominant Atlanta Braves team of the mid-1990s who won the World Series in 1995. He was an All-Star MVP, 5x All-Star, and 3x Silver Slugger. He played for a variety of teams, which included the Toronto Blue Jays, San Diego Padres, Atlanta Braves, Tampa Bay Rays, Chicago Cubs, and Los Angeles Dodgers.

The inaugural Contemporary Era Baseball Committee consisted of Hall of Fame members, Greg Maddux, Jack Morris, Ryne Sandberg, Lee Smith, Frank Thomas, and Alan Trammell. Chipper Jones was invited but couldn’t participate due to illness.

Fred McGriff will deliver his Hall of Fame induction speech in Cooperstown, NY on July 23, 2023.

To view the current eBay auctions for Fred McGriff baseball cards, click here.


  1. Fred McGriff elected to Hall of Fame by contemporary era committee. ↩︎

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected